Bonfire of the Sotheby Paintings

 

Or “Bonfire of the Inanities”

Now that’s what I call…a seriously dysfunctional family.

“When I was about nine or ten years old my father had a bonfire of Victorian paintings. Like many a person who was inclined by nature to hoard, he sometimes had fits of clearing things out to make space, presumably for something else to accumulate. The paintings shared a loft for several years with crates of tinned fruit that he had bought during the Korean War, in the fear that the conflict would spread and rationing re-introduced. He kept the fruit and got rid of the paintings.”

And the underclass are supposed to be emulating this?

Too funny.

I’m sure I’ve read this somewhere before. Recycling without the environmental benefits.

Oops. I think I offended the good doctor’s top disciples.

I expect to be struck by lightning any time soon.

I have been tried and found guilty in the court of Texan brothers ‘Steve ‘n’ Clint’ and some other bloke who calls himself ‘Gavin’ (Gavin?  Sounds like an eighties football hooligan) of  ‘ad hominem’:

Let us see what the good doctor himself has to say about ad hominem:

Why Intellectuals Like Genocide

Here I confess that I am entering the world of ad hominem.

However, when it comes to the questions of human motivation it is difficult altogether to avoid ad hominem.

Anything Goes

And as ich bin ein untermensch surely I cannot be judged more harshly than the good doctor.

“Is there any attitude more illiberal?”

Possibly but then I’ve never claimed to be anything other than ‘illiberal’.

And who says I’m ‘blaming’ anyone?  I’ve read about this episode before.  In the account that I read poor little nine year old Theodore was sobbing and pleading with his father not to burn the paintings.

You’d have to have a heart of stone not to be moved by that.

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Bonfire of the Sotheby Paintings”

  1. Andrea Says:

    This explains a lot. A LOT.

    Like

  2. Tyzilee Says:

    the boy done good. he got himself a blawg. warning tho, it aint pretty.

    http://salisburyreview.co.uk/Blog_Theodore_Dalrymple/Entries/2012/9/1_Order_to_the_Left.html

    Like

  3. Louise Says:

    Explains but does not excuse.

    Like

  4. Southern Belle Says:

    Diddums, huh.

    Like

  5. Louise Says:

    My sentiments exactly, babes.

    (Sunshell?)

    Like

Comments are closed.


