They Seek to Devour Me

Saturated by the sourness
Of bitter lemons. We are partying
Again. Once a decade I acknowledge
My academic acumen and, not content
To let other devils devour them
I feast upon my own accomplishments

While my guests are content
To feed only on me. They do not see
The mountains I have climbed
The hoops through which I have jumped
To seize the academic’s greatest prize:
Security of tenure. They only see here and now

They only see me in my long, white gown
Inebriated, swaying back and forth
A kind of sleepwalking ghost
For it is my body, not me
Who plays host, who greets the guests
Twinkling, like a crystal chandelier

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “They Seek to Devour Me”

  1. David Warriet Edwards Says:

    beautiful 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.


