Damned if You Do…

In my family there was an Acknowledged Family Tradition:  The Sunday Picnic or The Sunday Pigout as I called it during the first throes of my eating disorder.   Every Sunday afternoon my mother, my father, Peter  and I would have a picnic on the lawn on top of a Mr Men tarpaulin.  So we would sit on top of Mr Happy and Mr Bounce and Mr Bump and eat all the food we were forbidden during the week: cakes, crisps, chocolates, ice cream

Later, when I developed anorexia I read that some parents could precipitate eating disorders by using food as a reward.  ‘Oh, wonderful,’ my mother muttered.  ‘Next time I have a child I’ll lock her up on a coal shed and feed her on bread and water.’

I’m willing to bet my life savings that the phrase, ‘Damned if you do, damned if you don’t ‘ pounded through her head.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Damned if You Do…”

  1. sanabituranima Says:

    I think ED is so common and so complex that we can never be certain what causes it.

    Like

  2. This Week In The Mentalists – The I Need A Break Edition « Mental Nurse Says:

    […] So Sick of Drowning provided me with a wry smile: In my family there was an Acknowledged Family Tradition: The Sunday Picnic or The Sunday Pigout as I called it during the first throes of my eating disorder. Every Sunday afternoon my mother, my father, Peter and I would have a picnic on the lawn on top of a Mr Men tarpaulin. So we would sit on top of Mr Happy and Mr Bounce and Mr Bump and eat all the food we were forbidden during the week: cakes, crisps, chocolates, ice cream […]

    Like

Comments are closed.


