I Try To Live My Life By This Creed….

The epigraph to Simone de Beauvoir’s Le Sang Des Autres: ”Each of us is responsible for everything and to every human being.’

(Attributed to Fyodor Dostoevsky.)

But then I realized that this is a tad impractical.

So I tried to replace it with this:

‘God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.’

…but then I realize that this leaves me open to charges of bystander apathy.

Research cognitive dissonance and remember that ambivalence is not a crime. Sometimes it is the only sane response.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “I Try To Live My Life By This Creed….”

  1. Recent Links Tagged With "drowning" - JabberTags Says:

    […] public links >> drowning A survey of four Titanics Saved by sarathl on Thu 18-9-2008 I Try To Live My Life By This Creed…. Saved by jjaxinc on Thu 18-9-2008 God- Life Jacket – Water – Drowning Saved by surryresources on […]

    Like

Comments are closed.


