I Have Been Looking for This…

For years. The epigraph to Simone de Beauvoir’s Le Sang Des Autres: ”Each of us is responsible for everything and to every human being.’

(Attributed to Fyodor Dostoevsky.)

I cannot walk away. I’m sorry but I can’t. I never could. That would be cowardly. Wouldn’t it?

Besides, have you never heard of Kitty Genovese?

(Now, wasn’t that predictable? I’ll be invoking Martin Niemoller next*.)

*Please excuse the absence of the umlaut.

Recently, someone wrote to me, asking for, no, sorry, demanding my empathy.

Well, I have been told that a person can only feel empathy for one person at a time. It’s the law or something. And this week the recipient of my empathy is Nina Burton-Harris. Don’t know who she is? I thought not.

Addendum: Oh, and in other news, the Chief Appointer of Mental Health Activists on Da Web (news to you, sweetheart, the British Blogosphere is not ‘The Web’ and ‘The Web’ is not the British Blogosphere. Thank fuck!) is some bloke named Marcus. He seems to believe that I penned a post in which I called people ‘Corporate Cock Suckers’. A question to the real author of that post: do you think if I sucked the cock of Steve Jobs just a leeetle bit harder that he’d give me a Macbook Pro? I’d accept a low-end one. I’m not proud.

We will fight, not out of spite
for someone must stand up for what’s right
cause where there’s a man who has no voice
there ours shall go singing
In the end only kindness matters
In the end only kindness matters
I will get down on my knees and I will pray
I will get down on my knees and I will pray
I will get down on my knees and I will pray
My hands are small, I know,
but they’re not yours they are my own
but they’re not yours they are my own
and I am never broken

Hands, Jewel

Final Straw

R.E.M

As I raise my head to broadcast my objection
As your latest triumph draws the final straw
Who died and lifted you up to perfection?
And what silenced me is written into law.

I can’t believe where circumstance has thrown me
And I turn my head away
If I look I’m not sure that I could face you.
Not again. not today. not today.

If hatred makes a play on me tomorrow
And forgiveness takes a back seat to revenge
There’s a hurt down deep that has not been corrected.
There’s a voice in me that says you will not win.

And if I ignore the voice inside,
Raise a half glass to my home.
But it’s there that I am most afraid,
And forgetting doesn’t hold. It doesn’t hold.

Now I don’t believe and I never did
That two wrongs make a right.
If the world were filled with the likes of you
Then I’m putting up a fight. I’m putting up a fight.
Putting up a fight. Make it right. Make it right.

Now love cannot be called into question.
Forgiveness is the only hope I hold.
And love- love will be my strongest weapon.
I do believe that I am not alone.

For this fear will not destroy me.
And the tears that have been shed
It’s knowing now where I am weakest
And the voice in my head. In my head.

Then I raise my voice up higher
And I look you in the eye
And I offer love with one condition.
With conviction, tell me why.
Tell me why.
Tell me why.
Look me in the eye.
Tell me why.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,


